THE EXIT INTERVIEW

GOOD MORNING WORLD

Well here it is May 31, 2013.  It is 365 days from June 1, 2012 and my challenge to myself is complete.  I have posted on my blog daily for one year.  It is time to review and I thought that an Exit Interview might just be the trick to do it for me.

In business when an employee leaves on their own accord an Exit Interview is conducted.  Of course if the company walks you out the door in a lay-off or firing it is a bit different.  Well unless you are the government then you are allowed to stay until your appointed leaving time or do not come to work and still collect the weekly part of your $170,000 annual salary.

The purpose of an Exit Interview is for the employer to see what they are doing well and what they could do better in your field.  It also is to make sure you are aware of privacy rules regarding their products if that is applicable.  It may also be for the employer to understand that you are not disgruntled in your leaving.  If you are then they will ask questions that could protect them should you sue.  An Exit Interview is optional in some cases.

I looked on the internet for questions that are asked in an Exit Interview.  As with anything on the web, there is an abundance of questions.  Most of them are pertinent to a work environment so I had to adapt to my situation.

Some I found are:

What is your primary reason for leaving?

What was most satisfying about your job?

What was least satisfying about your job?

What would you change about your job?

Were you satisfied with this company’s merit review process?

Were you happy with your pay, benefits and other incentives?

To begin the interview I have to go back to June 1, 2012 when I put forth the challenge to myself.  This would simply answer the first question with – it is time.  My challenge is up.  I have posted on my blog every single day for a year.  In fact being the “Queen of Underachievers” I surprisingly went overboard and posted twice on a couple of days.  Today will be post #373.

The most satisfying thing about the challenge was that I was able to have a voice.  Sometimes it was warm and homey.  At other times my voice was to give my opinion or to let others hear that all was not well in a particular situation.DCF 1.0

The least satisfying about it was the timeframe as I wanted to be posted by noon everyday.  I really wanted to be posted before one of my faithful readers went off to do their errands at 10:30AM.  This put pressure on me and I accepted it.  Writing was the first thing I did every morning with my “Paris” coffee cup at my side.  Some mornings it was a struggle and others the words poured out of me.

I think the only thing I would change about ‘my job’ is that I would make it less daily and not necessarily mornings only.  At this point I risk losing my readers.  I would also have to change the title ‘Good Morning World’!  Decisions decisions.

I loved the last two questions about merit review process, pay and benefits.  I have to tell you the financial reward is non-existent at this point.  The personal satisfaction reward is hitting the ceiling.  As far as the merit review I look to the comment section of my blog and thoroughly have enjoyed them all.  I am grateful for all my readers.

The last part of the Exit Interview is “Are there any other comments that you would like to make?”

Well of course there are!  I started this June 1st with a discussion as to the name of my blog.  I ended up with ‘ktsquaredtreasures’.  Well it was written by kt squared and I have decided not all I wrote were treasures!!!  In order to change the name I would have to create a whole new blog and it seemed like too much work at the time.  Even now so will keep the same name.

I have had some very positive comments about my political posts and some not so nice comments.  Taking all that in thought I have decided to separate the political from ktsquared and have established a new blog that will be designated for the controversial issues.  If you are interested in reading those let me know and I will get you connected.

I believe I succeeded in my quest and it was indeed a year of eclectic passion.  I look back at this with eyes of amazement.  I rarely follow through anymore even in my reading I have books open, started and unread on my tables.  Up until the one I just started and finished last week entitled “Queen Hereafter”.  The latest Dan Brown is next to me and is already half read and I started it yesterday.  I am chomping at the bit to get back to it!  If all goes well I will finish it today or tomorrow.  “Inferno” is a great read thus far.  I love Dan Brown’s plots!  Perhaps I am turning a page (pun intended) on follow through once again in my life.

The end of this blog is that it will not end.  I am going to continue to post on ktsquaredtreasures.  Again I know not all will be treasures.  I can guarantee that all will be eclectic and filled with passion.  I am going to not worry about posting before noon and still try to do so.  I am going to not worry about posting every day and probably will continue to do so as well.  I am going to look into dividing my blog into areas like the thought of the day or a movie review or book review.  Change can sometimes be a good thing.

I am going to take the weekend off.  I have to be in upstate New   York over the weekend and not going to bother trying to get something posted. I however will be thinking of topics.  Monday morning I will try to post again.  The fun thing is I do not HAVE to post!!!

So thank you for walking this journey with me.  It has proven to me that I can do it!!!  What is next?  I want to learn a new language.  I have been getting itchy to paint more.  Goodness knows I could certainly use some of this past year’s determination to take off a few pounds though that is less appealing to me as it means deprivation.  Well maybe not actually.  Oh well as you can see eclectic as ever!  So I am now off to new adventures…………..or as I have said everyday for the past year………..

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…