CHRIS MATTHEWS – EMBARRASSMENT TO SUNDAY NEWS

GOOD MORNING WORLD

Yesterday I decided that I would be diligent about watching the Sunday news shows to see how the week previously was reported.  We had big stories last week.  There was the story of the Congressional hearings of three people about Benghazi.  There was the story of the three women rescued in Cleveland.  There was the story of the revelations by the IRS about how they targeted Tea Party Patriots.  There was news from Syria.  The military was out with information about sex scandals.  And ends to the Aries and Gosnel trials.  It was a full news week and there was much for the Sunday shows to discuss.

I gave up on “Face the Nation” years ago when Bob Scheiffer started lobbing softballs rather ask probing questions ala Mike Wallace of Ed Bradley his peers.  Both of course are gone now.  I did review the transcript this morning and was so interested to read the questions and the interruptions.  I judged I did not miss much by not watching that one show.

I was interested to hear the other shows and their areas of focus.  Of the FOX, ABC and NBC shows the leads were Benghazi, the IRS and the sex scandals with the Cleveland and Syria stories added in.

To make sure I did not simply watch FOX news and be criticized as biased I watched Chris Matthews.  I was actually anxious to hear what he had to say about the news of the previous week.  Below is the timeline of his discussions with his panel.

10:00   no word of Benghazi – all about Hillary 2016

10:07   Matthews says Beyond Benghazi still focusing on 2016

10:10   Mother’s Day discussion

10:14   Me Me Me Generation

10:23   Immigration Reform

Biggest Question of the week: Do people watch this show live or DVR it?

Not ONE mention of any of the current news stories.  I can only surmise that this show was not live despite no announcement to that fact.  It most certainly contain an embarrassing lack of news for a Sunday news show!

I went to look to see who was on the panel for inclusion in this post only to discover that Matthews announced at the end of April that he was giving up the Sunday Show.  PHEW!  Less pressure on me to check it out!

Good news for those people that actually think this man is a journalist.  His biographical blurb calls him a news anchor and political commentator.  He has signed a contract to stay at MSNBC.  MSBNC I might note is consistently one of the lower rated cable news outlets.  On May 9th it rated well below FNC, CNN and even HLN!  My belief is that he is a showboat not newsman!

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

By ktsquared Posted in Trivia