R E S P E C T

GOOD MORNING WORLD

Much was made of the current resident of the White House making a mistake when he tried to repeat the Aretha Franklin song after a concert earlier this month. (1) I am not so sure he did flub it as I thought he did say the ‘e’ before the ‘s’ and not going to argue the point nor is this a political post. I save those for the Corner Soapbox.

What this is about is kids and respect. I had the opportunity yesterday while visiting with my 97 year old aunt and her daughter, my cousin, to speak about some of my very little cousins. We were sharing how we have such wonderfully well-behaved little ones in our family. These particular children are full of respect and it is refreshing with what is happening in the world as a whole. Or perhaps to be more to the point what we see through the media of our world. I am convinced that most children in our world are respectful yet we see the worst on TV. Smart mouthed and disrespectful to all.

This topic brings me a bit further as I contemplate the issue of respect. I saw the following on facebook – posted by our own son. He is correct had he not shown respect to his elders he would STILL be grounded.

If I had spoken to my parents the way some children do now,

I wouldn’t be here to share this status.

Some children need to learn the meaning of respect.

Share this if you agree.

When does respect end? The answer of course is NEVER. We are to, according to the book I read, “Honor our Father and Mother” and “Love One Another” and “Do unto others as you would have done to you”.   Perhaps that last is the most important and what is being instilled into the well-behaved in our world. That was surely drummed into me. I was not to be mean to my friends as I did not want them to be mean to me.

I suppose you could look at that as self-centered yet I believe it is other-centered as you are putting goodness out into the world without a thought of the return. The general belief would be that if you put out good that the same would return. What if it doesn’t? For me I do not worry or care as I know I have done my part. I have sown seeds of kindness and will reap goodness. Those who sow seeds of bitterness or uncaring or thoughtlessness will also reap a harvest and I am thinking it might be a harvest of bitter fruit.

As I watched my cousin care for my aunt and I helped in getting her to the car as well, I am pleased and happy. These feelings come from a couple of places. One of course that my aunt is still here and going strong at 97. The second is grateful that I can be a part of her life in helping ever so minutely as well as enjoying her company.

Same for my parents. I am blessed that my dad is here at 92 and that my mother (the third one and blessed Dad chooses great women) is here too and I enjoy their company. They are quite independent and find it hard to accept help though we are all ready to do whatever they want. Being 12 hrs away and unable to make daily visits, like my brother and the two of my three sisters (one is also a couple hours away) who live on the island, I try to call at least once a week. I delight when I can show my love for them through some act of service to be of help in some way.

Most recently I introduced them to my new favorite of crock-pot meals. I brought up a small crock-pot for our cottage which turned out to be just the right size for them. Immediately it was decided we would trade and I got their bigger crock-pot for the cottage and they kept the smaller one. Great fun and a good trade all around it seems.

The delight for me is more than a simple trade of crock-pots. The joy was mine by being able to offer something to make life easier for them.  It made me happy.  I love and respect my parents so much that I believe that I am called as their child to remember them daily in some way or another.  That may be only in my prayers some days!  Along with calls and gifts at Christmas and birthdays (which of course are always sent ), I send the occasional ‘just because’ gift of a movie or a book. These things are done out of love and respect and leave me with feelings of happiness. Being other-centered and giving and doing for them leaves me very satisfied and maybe that is selfish! There is perhaps also the hope that one day my children may love and respect me enough to show me the same kindnesses.

I think I was taught and shown RESPECT at an early age though my parents. I believe I am trying to live a life of respect and love through my choice to live an other-centered life. Why do I live this way? Perhaps the odd thing is that giving to others brings much back to me in happiness. So the question again is am I truly other-centered or in giving and loving the happiness I receive am I being self-centered? Food for thought!!!

So how about you – a question of the day – do you put others before yourself or put yourself first? Realizing of course that there are times, as the airlines tell us when we fly that we need to hook ourselves up first to oxygen, when we have to go first. As a general rule do you enjoy doing for others? Do you care for babies, teens or parents? Other-centered? Self-centered? Questions of the ages. I think I have written about this more than once as well!!! Still pondering it seems…………….

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/obama-botches-spelling-of-respect-while-lauding-aretha-franklin/

One comment on “R E S P E C T

  1. Good Morning,
    I agree with you but….. ah-yes…the but, As I have grown older and have been forced to deal with certain people, I have found that respect is given at first, but earned in the long run. It is courtesy to be respectful when meeting a new person (and certainly as a child, an elder, no matter who, should be respected) but when you become a peer (18+) there is an invisible line drawn. I give respect until I am forced not to, just on the ground of being true to myself. I could give many instances but no- one would know who I am talking about…so without trying to be political, I will use our POTUS. He is president so respecting the office is necessary, however, the man has proven to me over and over again, that he does not deserve my respect. If some one does not respect you, how can you return the favor….I know “do onto others…blah…blah…blah” but to be self-respecting is the most important IMHO. We go from the Pres…right down to the person in Wal-Mart who feels the need to take a full grocery cart into the 20 only line…..that person knew exactly what they were doing, they chose to disrespect the basic rules of the establishment along with not caring for the fellow shoppers. That person does not deserve my respect. I know it is a huge range between President and Wal-Mart patron, but I think you get the idea…..you got to give to get….but in the same token, you got to get to give. People who are brought up NOT learning the basic tenant of respect are destined to repeat what they have learned and thus is why we are in the situation of the country today……Knock out game? disrespect…….mobs rushing a door at a store on black Friday? Disrespect………….people trashing each other for personal gain? Disrespect……………..and the worst of all…… people not taking others opinions at face value with the added attempt to smash the other with insults…..Disrespect……..

    oh the webs we weave

Leave a comment