PATRIOTISM

GOOD MORNING WORLD

This morning and over the weekend our news has been filled with the celebration of the Diamond Jubilee of the Queen of England.  Say what you will about the monarchy, this is one huge party and a real show of British patriotism.  I am fascinated by royalty.  I have been since I was a little girl.  Then again what little girl does not like princesses???  It is the patriotism being shown on the news that has caught my eye this day.

On Memorial Day this year we attended the Southwest Harbor, Maine Memorial Day parade.  This was a staple of my childhood.  I played the French horn in it when our high school band marched.  It is not long and ends with a short ceremony celebrating those who have died in service to our country.  I am not a big parade fan.  I am a big fan of patriotism.  I love to see our flag flying high as the units go by. 

When I was a child, patriotism was evidenced as we celebrated our country.  Any chance for patriotism was not lost. Lincoln’s Birthday and George Washington’s birthday were celebrated on their own instead of one day for them both.  We also celebrated Arbor Day, Memorial Day, Flag Day, the 4th of July, Labor Day, Columbus Day and Veterans Day and the flag was flying high.  We had a small ceremony daily as we hung the flag during the school year.  Same at summer camp!  It was a real display of our patriotism.

I believe it – patriotism – is lacking in our country at this time.  When was the last time we celebrated the United States of America?  On our house we fly the flag of our country every day that it can be flown.  Some people are not aware of the etiquette of not flying the flag in the rain or without a light on it.  Heavens we had a whole dust up about our President not wearing a flag pin.  Again I believe that was more about patriotism than the flag. 

I have my thoughts on where patriotism went and why – another days post.  I long for pride in America to return to our country.  As I remember Daddy who is 90 standing each time the flag passed during the parade last month, I fill with pride.  He has a hard time moving and still found it important to honor the symbol of our country – that is patriotism. 

The end all is that Patriotism may be strong in our country and I am not seeing it.  Until it comes back and is so visible I can’t miss it I will enjoy the celebration inEngland.  Long live the Queen!

 ……ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

Leave a comment