AUGUST GONE – SEPTEMBER HALFWAY

GOOD MORNING WORLD

We can safely and correctly say that three fourths of the year has gone.  My question still and ever remains – where did it go?  It went by faster than a speeding bullet and appeared to be able to leap tall buildings in a single bound.  It was a blur this year 2014.  I want some of it back to make sure I enjoyed the time.

Last Friday a friend of mine and I were commiserating that we simply had no energy and each of our list of things to do was way too long.  I explained that I am trying to simply do one thing each day.  Last week one of those things was to clean the microwave.  It did not get done yet two other items were checked off the list instead.  I still have to clean the microwave over the stove.  My issue that I loudly mention to those in this household is that I am simply too short.  The thought is that someone else who is taller might pick up the gauntlet and go ahead and clean it.  Thus far no takers and I will be getting out the step stool later today or tomorrow as it is not on today’s list.

I completed my one task for this day.  It was to simply get the table cloth off the dining room table and put the room back to the clean state in which I like to see.  When I mentioned this at dinner last night I got a chortle and a “That will take all of five minutes.  What are you going to do with the rest of the day?”  I simply said my list has one thing each day so not to disrupt my qi!  I heard another chortle.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

For other uses, see Qi (disambiguation).

In traditional Chinese cultureqi (more precisely , also chich’i or ki) is an active principle forming part of any living thing.[1][2][3] Qi is frequently translated as “natural energy”, “life force”, or “energy flow”. Qi is the central underlying principle in traditional Chinesemedicine and martial arts. The literal translation of “qi” is “breath”, “air”, or “gas”. Qi is a purely hypothetical concept.[4]

When I was at OCS (overly comfortable spa) I acknowledged stress as I shared with you a few weeks back.  I also learned more about qi.  I also learned about breathing which was actually a review from the year before.  I am a slow learner as I have also shared often.   The result of this knowledge is that I am being easier on myself and not going as fast.   Ultimately I am happier.  It has been an interesting couple of weeks.

I have a whole house to clean.  We have multiple bedrooms and multiple bathrooms for which I am very grateful.  I would like hired help and am determined I can do this on my own and keep it in the state I want – breathtakingly clean.  It is going to take time.  I have that.  If it does not work I have determined that I will work my new business harder and look for help.

With September here fall arrives in a few days.  It is the beginning of my favorite time of the whole year.  It is cool out.  The air is crisp.  While I like the green of summer and colors of flowers I love the display of fall colors equally as well.  It gets darker at night and cozy clings to the windows like the curtains that cover them.  This is the time of year I button up.  I snuggle in.  I grow stronger.  I have more energy.  I feel more empowered.  Never have understood it and not looking to right now.

Right now I want my life force to flow with the energy I need to bring about fall inside of our home.  The full drapes will now be used on the windows instead of valances.  I am going to change the kitchen curtains this year to reflect the warmth I need which means I will probably make some more calicos with ruffles and tiebacks.  I wonder how many pairs of these I have made in my lifetime thus far.  I can think of 3 or 4 different prints that had to cover 5 windows.  Oh my!  More work!  One thing per day will make it happen.

Not going to overwhelm myself.  Few strangers visit our home.  Those that come care for us and will understand any clutter they see.  It is not the stuff of course.  It is the people we want to be that counts.  I want to be organized and hopefully one day will make it.  If I die before than apologies to those left behind right now!  Just know I am going to give it my best one chore at a time.

I must note that the dining room table cloth is off.  The furniture and floor have been dusted.  The chairs are back where they belong and all that needs to be done now is water those plants that decorate the room.  That is tomorrows chore as it is “water Wednesday” when all the plants get a drink.

Oh my I did more than one thing.  Good for me!!! Breathe!  Off to start a soup for supper.  Does this count as another thing or simply a daily item?

……ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qi

2 comments on “AUGUST GONE – SEPTEMBER HALFWAY

  1. I am always amazed at your way with words. “Cozy clings to the windows like the curtains that cover them”……..that is one of the most comforting and warm phrases I have heard forever!!! We have always said you should publish!!!!!

Leave a Reply

