TIME TO LEAVE HER ALONE!!!

GOOD MORNING WORLD

Can anyone tell me what all the names on this list have in common?

Gov. Mark Sanford (R)

Sen. John Ensign  (R)

Sen. David Vitter (D)

Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick (D)

Sen. Larry Craig (R)

Sen. Barney Frank (D)

Pres. Bill Clinton (D)

Gov. Eliot Spitzer (D)

Sen. John Edwards (D)

Sen. Anthony Weiner (D)

Did the party designations throw you off?  I said I would no longer post political opinions on this site.  I have the Corner Soapbox for those.  If you care to read them then follow me there.  Did you figure it out?  What all these men have in common?

According to TIME they are the men involved in the “Top 10 Political Sex Scandals”. (1) This needless to say is a dubious claim to fame.

Question number 2 is: “Do you know the names of all the women involved in these scandals?”  My guess is that you do not with the exception of Monica Lewinsky.  Thus the point of this post.  It is time to leave this woman alone.  She was the victim was she not?  Perhaps that is the larger question was she a victim?  I contend YES she was!

The government has had since 1990 a paper entitled “SUBJECT:  Policy Guidance on Current issues of Sexual Harassment. (2)  It is a 13 page document number N-915-050 and dated 3/1/90.”  The Clinton Lewinsky Scandal was 1995-1996.  His famous statement about not having sexual relations with that woman was made January 1998.  The guidelines in this paper :

Sexual Harassment

It is unlawful to harass a person (an applicant or employee) because of that person’s sex. Harassment can include “sexual harassment” or unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical harassment of a sexual nature.

Harassment does not have to be of a sexual nature, however, and can include offensive remarks about a person’s sex. For example, it is illegal to harass a woman by making offensive comments about women in general.

Both victim and the harasser can be either a woman or a man, and the victim and harasser can be the same sex.

Although the law doesn’t prohibit simple teasing, offhand comments, or isolated incidents that are not very serious, harassment is illegal when it is so frequent or severe that it creates a hostile or offensive work environment or when it results in an adverse employment decision (such as the victim being fired or demoted).

The harasser can be the victim’s supervisor, a supervisor in another area, a co-worker, or someone who is not an employee of the employer, such as a client or customer.

It is up for all to judge if Miss Lewinsky was a victim.  At age 22, I put forth that she may have been mature chronologically.  When the Leader of the free world pays attention or suggest or allows improper behavior then clearly her judgment was not sound and she was easily led.   Others may disagree and call her a user or not very smart and a climber or opportunist.  Whatever the label and I do not like these, isn’t it time to let go of this situation?    I believe she is trying to live a quiet life now at age 40.  Perhaps she has actually become older and wiser. (3)  Regardless is it not time to leave her alone?

I have heard her in the limelight twice in recent months.  One was the comment by Rand Paul leveled more at the former President.  He said on Meet the Press: “Well you know, I mean the Democrats one of their big issues is they have concocted and says Republicans are committing a war on women. One of the workplace laws and rules that I think are good is that bosses shouldn’t prey on young interns in their office, and I think really the media seems to have given President Clinton a pass on this.”

Not once did he use Miss Lewinsky yet up she pops again as fodder for the press and dare I say a deflection from the point.  Bill Clinton was the President of the United States.  She was an intern.  Do the words Sexual Harassment enter into your minds?  It is all her fault?

The second I heard about her was in the lyrics of a Beyonce song.  Now I thought Beyonce was our Presidents choice as a role model.  “Barack Obama has revealed the extent to which he is a fan of Beyoncé, claiming she is the perfect “role model” for his daughters.” (4)

I went to check out the words to her most recent hit.  I do not know much about Beyonce.  She is absolutely beautiful.  She was part of “Destiny’s Child”.  Her mother made most of her costumes.  She is a real talent and lip syncs.  She is married to JayZ and has a child.  When I went to look for the lyrics to the particular song in question I was blown away by her lyrics in general.  Why is this woman a role model?  I could do another whole blog about her lyrics.  The following are the ones that bothered me the most when I heard them last week.  It is from her song “Yonce/Partition”  on her last album. (5)

“Driver roll up the partition please
Driver roll up the partition please
I don’t need you seeing yoncé on her knees
Took 45 minutes to get all dressed up
We ain’t even gonna make it to this club
Now my mascara runnin’, red lipstick smudged
Oh he so horny, yeah he want to f—
He popped all my buttons and he ripped my blouse
He Monica Lewinski’d all on my gown”

My question is was not the stain on the blue dress left by President Bill Clinton?  Was it not his DNA?  Then why didn’t “He Bill Clinton’d all over my gown?”

I think it is time to put responsibility where it belongs.  If we cannot do that, I still believe it is time to leave Monica Lewinsky alone.

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

(1)http://content.time.com/time/specials/2007/article/0,28804,1721111_1721210_1906894,00.html

(2)http://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/publications/upload/currentissues.pdf

(3)http://www.the-spearhead.com/2012/10/11/the-sad-life-of-monica-lewinsky/

(4)http://www.theguardian.com/music/2012/sep/20/barack-obama-beyonce-role-model

(5) http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/beyonceknowles/yoncpartition.html

Leave a Reply

