HARRIED

GOOD MORNING WORLD

The first word that came to my head this morning was HARRIED.  My TO DO list is nine miles long.  Here I am with almost three hours behind me and not much to check off the list.    The list is not even written.  I was going many different directions at once.  I need focus.

The best way I discovered last year for me to focus was to write so here I sit spending precious time trying to get jobs done and doping absolutely nothing about the looming list.

I looked up harried.  The definition is:

harried

verb (used with object)

1. to harass, annoy, or prove a nuisance to by or as if by repeated attacks; worry: He was harried by constant doubts.

2. to ravage, as in war; devastate: The troops harried the countryside.

verb (used without object)

3. to make harassing incursions.


Origin:
before 900; Middle English herien, Old English her ( g ) ian  (derivative of here  army); cognate with German verheeren, Old Norse herja  to harry, lay waste

Related forms

un·har·ried, adjective

Synonyms
1. molest, plague, trouble. 2. plunder, strip, rob, pillage.

Dictionary.com Unabridged
Based on the Random House Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2013.

As I read this my harried thoughts and feelings seem to pale in comparison to mentions of war, plague, plunder and pillage.  I am simply a little concerned that I will get all the things done that I need to complete this next few hours!

So in perspective my day is not too bad.  Think I will kick it up a notch and actually get to the list by writing one out.  Might just be able to check all the items off.  Of course I will be able to start with a check off as I will put ‘Write my blog” as #1.  We know that is all done now – write and check off at the same time!  I am now beginning my kind of day!!!

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

By ktsquared Posted in Trivia

One comment on “HARRIED

  1. you feel Harried, but you take the time to drop everything and look up the word harried??? me thinks you are your own enemy

Leave a Reply

