NO MAN IS AN ISLAND

GOOD MORNING WORLD

RIP Lee Hodges or better known to his friends as “Fuzzy”.  The announcement on his facebook page read:

Just got very bad news my uncle Lee Hodges died this morning in an accident. He was a very special man and will be missed terribly. I love you uncle fuzzy R.I.P.

This is not the first obituary I have seen on facebook.  It seems to be the new hometown newspaper.

The paper said:

 57-year-old killed in Parkville crash

July 5, 2013

A fatal crash claimed the life of a 57-year-old man in Parkville on Friday morning.

Just before 5 a.m. ET, emergency personnel responded to the area of Harford   Road and Knoll Acres Road.

Robert Lee Hodges Jr. had been traveling southbound on Harford   Road near Knoll Acres Road when he crossed the double yellow line.

His 2002 Ford F-150 crossed over the northbound travel lane, left the roadway and struck a tree.

Hodges was transported to Franklin   SquareHospital, where he was pronounced dead.

No other vehicles were involved in the accident.

The internet said:

Posted: Friday, July 5, 20135:26 pm | Updated: 5:40 pm, Fri Jul 5, 2013.

Bel Air man dies in Harford Road accident

A Bel Air man died early Friday after the vehicle he was driving on Harford Road left the road and struck a tree.

The Baltimore County Police Department said Robert Lee Hodges Jr., 57, of the 200 block of Timber Trail, Bel Air, was traveling southbound on Harford Road near Knoll Acres Road at 4:49 a.m. Friday when his vehicle crossed the double yellow centerline.

The 2002 Ford F-150 driven by Hodges crossed over the northbound travel lane, left the roadway, and struck a tree, police said.

Police and medic units responded to Harford   Road and Knoll Acres

Mr. Hodges was transported to MedStarFranklin SquareHospital, where he was pronounced deceased

I have not met Robert Lee Hodges.  In fact I did not even know his first name was Robert.  I met him on facebook from my friend Penny who knew David who knew Gary.  Gary and David knew Lee.  Lee asked me to be his friend.  I was honored to click yes.  Had hoped one day since some of us were in the same area that we might meet.

His posts were as eclectic as I am and I liked his patriotism and faith.  He was, from his posts, very conservative and loved the Lord.  He was engaged to a pretty lady as her picture was on his page as well.  He had 631 friends and the most varied musical interests.  One day it could be Flatt and Scruggs and another it could be the Stones though from his posts I have the sense that Led Zeppelin was a favorite. He was facebook’s own DJ sharing at least one or two songs a day.  He seemed to have a great sense of humor as well.

What more do we really need to know of a person?  They live they work they provide for themselves and their families and they live a good life.  I think that is quite a legacy to leave.  A life well lived today is nothing to sneeze about.  The other thing is that if you have touched someone in a special way I believe there is a good star on your chart in heaven.  From the condolence messages – over 20 to the original post and now well over 50 on Lee’s page I believe his gold star count is rising!

John Donne is one of my favorite poets.  He wrote the poem entitled “No Man Is an Island”.

No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thy friend’s
Or of thine own were:
Any man’s death diminishes me,
Because I am involved in mankind,
And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls;
It tolls for thee.

I did not know this man and yet my world has changed a bit today with this news.  He posted the Pledge of Allegiance every day and I liked that and felt a sense of pride as I would read it daily.  I shared his world and he mine so we were connected and I am diminished with this news.

The last post on Lee Hodges page said:

July 4, 1776, The middle of paragraph 2 of the Declaration of Independence reads:

“That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just Powers and the Consent of the Governed, that whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these Ends, it is the Right of the People to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its Foundation on such Principles, and organizing its Powers in such Form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.”

Well people…I think we are there now!!! God save US…

He then posted three songs one by ‘Pure Prairie’, one by ‘Poco’ and his last post was by the ‘Rolling Stones’.  Since there were no others I guess he went to bed and went to work.  On his drive I believe it was decided that it was time for him to meet the Lord.  I have a feeling both were overjoyed and smiles broke out in heaven leaving the tears on the floor of this earth!

I post this pledge to honor a man I do not know and a facebook friend I wish I had met.

I PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AND TO THE REPUBLIC FOR WHICH IT STANDS, ONE NATION UNDER GOD, INDIVISIBLE, WITH LIBERTY AND JUSTICE FOR ALL!!!

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

http://www.baltimorenewsjournal.com/2013/07/05/57-year-old-killed-in-parkville-crash/

http://www.myupperchesapeake.com/news/article_944e30aa-e5b9-11e2-a27e-0019bb2963f4.html

3 comments on “NO MAN IS AN ISLAND

Leave a Reply

