STORE BOUGHT

GOOD MORNING WORLD

Today there was a request for waffles for breakfast.  Now I was really excited about this.  If it comes to pancakes or waffles I am a waffle gal every time.  They are just a bit harder to make than pancakes.  I was not even sure I had a waffle iron. We did find the iron and it was square instead of round which I like better as far as shapes go!!!  Golly that is a whole other blog about round and square!  One of the reasons I like my little car is it is square not rounded.  I digress which is no surprise.

The recipe was procured and the ingredients set out.  The recipe had to be cut in half due to the lack of need.  Not a hard job.  The chef began.  I was kind of excited to have waffles once again.

Stated up front – another digression.  I watched “Mildred Pierce” on HBO when it was a mini-series a couple of years ago.  I really like some of the actors – Kate Winslet, Guy Pearce, Mare Whittingham – and it was one of those books I wished I had read.  The mini-series answered my needs.  When it was all over I was sad for wasting my time and very curious about this desire to have chicken and waffles together.  Have not had the opportunity to satisfy that curiosity yet,  though some restaurants are still offering the combo.

The waffles are made this morning and served to the heir apparent.  At 8 he has questionable tastes.  The Grandfather assists in the preparation as the Father has assembled and cooked the creation.  The ingredients are all real and fresh.  It is real butter that is put over the waffle.  The syrup is REAL maple syrup and fills all the squares as requested.  The eating can soon begin and does.

Then there it is – the words.  “These are not round.”  “This syrup does not taste right.”  The discussion begins.  The heir apparent is told that these squares have been lovingly prepared from fresh ingredients to fill his breakfast request.  “But they aren’t round and store bought.”  Right on all points.

I continued to enjoy the treat that was before me and informed said child that store bought was full of chemicals and not necessarily good for him.  The ingredients I said in the syrup were simply maple syrup.  I tried to inform him of all sorts of real information.  The reply was, “I like store bought better.”

Sad really and there it is.  Next time if waffles are requested by this child it will be “leg go my eggo”!

…..ONWARD TOMORE MISADVENTURE…

 

By ktsquared Posted in Trivia

7 comments on “STORE BOUGHT

  1. I remember when we went to Mount Vernon that the restaurant we went to after had fried chicken and waffles and I ordered it. It was way too much for a 10 year old girl but I liked it!
    I used to like store bought better but now love “just plain” maple syrup!

  2. I’m with the 8 year old. I like the storebought waffles heated up in the toaster and have found a Maple Grove Farms Sugar Free Maple Flavor Low Calorie Syrup which I
    am very fond of. Next to no cleanup! I am in my glory! Actually I have to admit
    I also use a paper plate so no sticky cleanup there either. Your blog reminds me to
    get a box of waffles when I go to the store today.

    Love you,

    Aunt Nance

  3. For the past 3 years Diane and I have worked as members of the Monthly Sunday Brunch Team at our community in Tamarac, Florida. For the last 2 years we have been Brunch Leaders. In our first year as leaders we did most things as they had been done for years and had what many considered a successful Brunch Season, November though March (coincides with the Snowbird Season) serving about 550 brunches. In our second year I decided to shake things up a bit. I bought two professional eight-inch round double waffle-makers. These are the kind that have two waffle irons stacked on top of each other so you can keep cranking out the waffles, one every 2 minutes or so. I actually started the first brunch last season with one unit. I advertised in the local senior citizens papers that we had added waffles to our menu. Our attendance was up by 20% at our first brunch. I immediately purchase a second double waffle-maker before the December Brunch rolled around. Good thing! The word spread. They have waffles over at Section 6…They have waffles ver at Section 6. The deal was the same – $5.00 All you Can Eat eggs, hashbrowns, toast, sausage, pancakes, coffee, orange juice – the only difference was the waffles. By the end of the season, just this past March we had served about 750 brunches and over 400 waffles! Our attendance was up over 30%!!! I guess the round waffles do make a difference. The Waring Double Waffle Maker is available on Amazon.com for $99.00. Enjoy.

  4. I can see your mother making waffles when we lived over Kitteridge’s (sp?) store. It seemed that she almost never got a hot one!! I will go for the made from scratch every time as long as I don’t have to make them!!!!

Leave a Reply

