MOVIE REDO

GOOD MORNING WORLD

The question was poised to me a few weeks back.  “If you could make any movie over which would I do?”  It seemed an interesting thought considering I mentioned do-overs in the post on Wednesday.  So what movie would it be?

We have had remakes of movies often.  Is it that writers cannot think of new ideas or that some of the old ideas actually do well in a different presentation?  I am not sure.

“The Great Gatsby” has had more reinventions in its time then the light bulb has in recent years. I did not like the original nor Robert Redford and will not see DiCaprio.

Other movies that have had remakes that were fairly successful were “The Invasion of the Body Snatchers” in 1956 and 1978.  “A Star is Born” in 1937 and 1954.  “CapeFear” was made in 1962 and again in 1991 and both were good.  Then there is “Oceans 11”.  I liked the original in 1960 as it had the ‘rat pack’ playing the characters.  The remake in 2001 was also very good ad entertaining.  While I think those were enough I am certain there will be remakes of these at some point.  Looks like every 2-40 years or so what was old becomes new again in filmmakers minds.

I loved the movie “Arthur” with Dudley Moore and could not imagine a remake and yet I have to give Hollywood credit in that they changed it enough with Russell Brand and Helen Mirren that it was not as painful as remakes can be.

I was surprised to read when I was researching some of this that “The Italian Job” with Mark Wahlberg, Charlize Theron, Edward Norton and a cast of other well known actors is a remake.  The original in 1969 starred Michael Caine and Noel Coward.  It has become the 27th most popular movie in Britain.

You may or may not be interested in knowing that in 2014 we may be seeing yet another remake of Godzilla!  The Amityville Horror which was made in 1979 remade in 2005 and perhaps will also reappear in 2014!

This summer we are going to have “The Man of Steel” and “Star Trek into the Darkness”.  Are these remakes or a new twist on an old theme?

The question was what movie would you put up for a remake?  And your answer is???

The additional question is who today would act as the characters in this movie.  In the conversation I was having it was the cast of characters that was harder to fill then the choice of movie.  So once again you would choose?

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

By ktsquared Posted in Trivia

2 comments on “MOVIE REDO

  1. Jaws. I always thought that Richard Dreyfus was miscast in the role he played as the scientist. I wouild also like to see the shark with more modern special effects. I bet Matthew McConaughey would make a better scientist character. I would leave the other actors in place.

Leave a Reply

