CHANGING MORALS – WHY?

GOOD MORNING WORLD

From Webster’s:

Definition of MORAL

1a : of or relating to principles of right and wrong in behavior : ethical <moral judgments>

b : expressing or teaching a conception of right behavior <a moral poem>

c : conforming to a standard of right behavior

d : sanctioned by or operative on one’s conscience or ethical judgment <a moral obligation>

e : capable of right and wrong action <a moral agent>

2: probable though not proved : virtual <a moral certainty>

3: perceptual or psychological rather than tangible or practical in nature or effect <a moral victory> <moral support>

I had two things come before me in the past many days.  One was a note on facebook about the safest thing to have when you have sex is a wedding ring.  The other was an article in the local paper about women becoming priests in the Catholic Church. Why am I lumping the two together?  Both are tied to the values in our society.  See above ethical?  Moral judgments?

From the CDC.gov:

Number of live births to unmarried women: 1,633,471

Birth rate for unmarried women: 47.6 births per 1,000 unmarried women aged 15-44 years

Percent of all births to unmarried women: 40.8%

Source: Births: Final Data for 2010, table

February 2012:

http://www.newser.com/story/139982/most-babies-to-young-moms-born-out-of-wedlock.html

Newser) – Out-of-wedlock births have been rising in the United States for 50 years, but now they’ve crossed a big threshold—more than half of all the babies born to women under 30 are born outside of marriage, reports the New York Times. While 59% of babies overall are born to married women in America, unmarried births have soared among younger women, especially among white women who have some college education but no degree.

Only college graduates still mostly have their babies after getting married. “Marriage has become a luxury good,” said one sociologist. Overall, 73% of black children are born outside of marriage, 53% of Latinos, and 29% of whites. “Most of my friends say it’s just a piece of paper,” says a 27-year-old single mother of two in Ohio, “and it doesn’t work out anyway

Why is it now so much more acceptable to have babies born out of wedlock?  Even that terminology seems outdated.  Is it good for our society?  All the articles I read said no.  Does more acceptable mean moral?  Does more acceptable need to become the norm?  Can we change this? The larger question is WHY did the acceptance of this change come about?

To the women who are becoming Catholic Priests and looking for acceptance.  My question is WHY?  if you do not like the rules of the Catholic Church why wouldn’t you simply go find a church that works for your values and morals? The Catholic Church has documented in their Catechism their belief in celibate men being the priests.  If this is not a way you wish to be guided in your faith why would you not go find another church that is guided by male and females? There are choices out there.  It appears that these few women are creating change for the sake of change.

The question becomes why?  Why do women – I think more girls – choose not to wait till they are married to have children.  In this day and age unless a crime occurs there are ways not to become pregnant.  Choices can be made to wait until protection is available.  Is that the answer?  Simply ignore the rules or values of society.  Do people not care about choice or character or right or wrong?  If it feels good do it regardless of the consequences.

The women trying to bring about change in the church are breaking rules to do so also.  To what solution?  They are not accepted and in fact are forced out of the church.  They say they are bringing about a new era of inclusivity.  Inclusive to whom?  I am a Catholic.  Even worse I am a convert.  I chose this church.  The ‘rules’ are tough and I find the church inclusive.  It does call us to live with morals and values and play by their ‘rules’.  Some days that can be very hard and yet to belong I must make that choice.

I believe the ladies who are pushing women priests have chosen not to belong.  The girls who believe it is better to have babies without the benefit of marriage are choosing to not belong as well.  Or perhaps as our world changes they are choosing to join club of single motherhood.  Statistics show that babies born ‘out of wedlock’ – a term which is still used – end up being raised by single moms.  Living together does not a lifetime commitment make.

So what happened.  Why is this the new norm?  We do not like Men’s Only groups so people go to court or protest to change it.  I give you The Masters.  Women golfers did not change the PGA they went out and started their own group.  I think that is a good thing.  Yet women hounded Augusta National until they were allowed to play.

The Pilgrims did not like how they were treated in England so they went out and started their own country for heaven’s sake!  Why must we tear down, reverse or change what exists to make us all one plain old vanilla cake?

I want a spice cake!  I want Men’s Clubs.  I want Women’s Clubs.  I want the PGA and the LPGA.  I think it is perfectly fine that women do not play in the Masters.  I also think it perfectly fine that men do not run for Miss America!

I want Baseball for boys and Softball for girls. I think that is perfectly fine.  If a girl can make it to play on a baseball team let her do not change all the rules for one exception.

I want marriage for men and women to raise their children.  I want the church I to which I belong to stick to its values.  I want our society to have morals and values.  While I do not believe in the wearing of the Scarlet Letter, I do not believe we reward bad choices with financial gain as in welfare.

[WAIT!!! Before you scourge me I would also not have anyone do without.  If there is a bad situation it is our moral responsibility to help.  It is not our responsibility to continue to allow maintenance on any one program.  It is a whole other blog and I believe welfare is meant to be a step up not a way of life.]

Back to the spice cake.  I believe in Boy Scouts separate from Girl Scouts.  I believe Marriage is for a man and a woman.  In this spice cake if others want a union than have it and please do not tear down one institution to have your own.  My spice cake involves exclusive.  Why not have requirements or rules or steps necessary to join a group.

I believe it is okay to be exclusive.  Exclusive sets up a place to challenge oneself to move beyond your normal to become the best to qualify.  I believe in winners.  Not everyone is the best on a team.  I certainly was not a better ball player than my girlfriend Frankie who could best most of the boys!!  I believe in stars and champions.  Why have an Olympics if we all are the same?

I know this seems like quite a ramble this morning.  It is the two disconnected items that started it.  Women becoming priests and sex without marriage.  Both areas that change the morals of a society that was not perfect.  It did work and called us all to be people of character with values.  I really do not see anything wrong with that. I believe it needs to work again and we need to return to an era of morals, character and values.

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

Leave a Reply

