NON RELATED ITEMS COME TOGETHER, THANK YOU MR. PRESIDENT

GOOD MORNING WORLD

I awoke this morning with little on my mind.  I had a break from sleep about 2AM and finally fell back to dreamland restlessly.   I am hoping this is one of the last few nights of that.  If I do not sleep I am little good the next day.

I had no idea what the topic would be for this days blog.  As it does my mind went to issues of the day, what is in my heart, on my mind, anything grasping to find an interest on which to comment.  I went to facebook and voila a bevy of topics.

One of the first items I ran across was an inspiration quote from a friend who shares something almost daily along these lines intended to uplift I believe.  It is a quote from Tennyson.

”Words, like nature, half reveal and half conceal the soul within.” – Alfred Lord Tennyson

I thought about this and know I have written about words before.  I also think I have heard others speak about the importance of words.  I was right Barack Obama said the following during the campaign.  It does not matter which one as I believe he has not stopped.

“Don’t tell me words don’t matter! ‘I have a dream’, just words? ‘We hold these truths to be self evident that all me are created equal’ – just words? ‘We have nothing to fear but fear itself?’ – just words. Just speeches.” Obama preached, using the famous phrases to question the notion that words and speeches do not make a difference.

“It’s true that speeches don’t solve all problems, but what is also true is if we cannot inspire the country to believe again then it doesn’t matter how many policies and plans we have,” Obama said in front of the Wisconsin Democratic Party’s Jefferson Jackson dinner, “That is why we just won eight elections straight, because the American people want to believe in change again. Don’t tell me words don’t matter!”

Is this about words or empty rhetoric?

rhetoric

1-persuasive speech or writing: speech or writing that communicates its point persuasively

2-pretentious words: complex or elaborate language that only succeeds in sounding pretentious

3-empty talk: fine-sounding but insincere or empty language

If words matter how come he is not more careful about what he says.  Trayvon Martin could be his son.  Professor Gates creates an incident so Obama calls police ‘stupid’.   The current resident of 1600 PA Ave came up with the idea of Sequester.  Then he said in October of 2012 that it “would not happen”. Then he said in March,

“These cuts are not smart,” Obama said in his weekly radio and Internet address. “They will hurt our economy and cost us jobs. And Congress can turn them off at any time – as soon as both sides are willing to compromise.”

Then he said they would not be so bad.  Which is right?

I discovered the following article on facebook.  I was going to take some of the information and incorporate it into this post.  I believe it must be read in its entirety so am simply posting the link.  It is a wonderfully written piece about just how much “words do matter”.  Thank you Mr. President.

Read Stella Pauls words at:
http://www.americanthinker.com/2013/04/i_saw_something_so_im_saying_something.html

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

Leave a Reply

