TIME – TOPIC DU JOUR

GOOD MORNING WORLD

Keeping the French flavor from this week.  Du Jour meaning today!  Today Time is on my mind.  Tonight we ‘spring forward’ as we move the clocks ahead an hour and lose an hours sleep.  Oh Joy!!!  I cannot find enough sleep now I am going to have to toss away one hour!

When I was a kid this was a favorite time as we could stay our and play longer in the evenings.  As I grew it became less and less important and then changing the clocks to fall backward to a snugger darker dinner hour became my favorite day.  I wrote about that last fall.  Tonight or early this morning rather we spring forward to more daylight time.  I had to look up the reasons for this inane practice.  Wikipedia seemed informational enough for my purpose today.

Daylight saving time (DST)—also summer time in several countries[1][2][3][4][5][6][7] in British English, and European official terminology (see Terminology)—is the practice of advancing clocks so that evenings have more daylight and mornings have less. Typically clocks are adjusted forward one hour near the start of spring and are adjusted backward in autumn.[8]

The modern idea of daylight saving was first proposed in 1895 by George Vernon Hudson [9] and it was first implemented during the First World War. Many countries have used it at various times since then. Although most of the United States used DST throughout the 1950s and 1960s, DST use expanded following the 1970s energy crisis and has generally remained in use in North America and Europe since that time.

The practice has been both praised and criticized.[8] Adding daylight to evenings benefits retailing, sports, and other activities that exploit sunlight after working hours,[10] but can cause problems for evening entertainment and other occupations tied to the sun.[11][12] Although an early goal of DST was to reduce evening usage of incandescent lighting (formerly a primary use of electricity[13]), modern heating and cooling usage patterns differ greatly, and research about how DST currently affects energy use is limited or contradictory.[14]

DST clock shifts present other challenges. They complicate timekeeping, and can disrupt meetings, travel, billing, recordkeeping, medical devices, heavy equipment,[15] and sleep patterns.[16] Software can often adjust computer clocks automatically, but this can be limited and error-prone, particularly when DST protocols are changed.[17]

Arizona never did nor does move their clock.  Sometimes one of my BFFs is 2 hrs earlier others 3.  Very confusing.  We still manage to talk and her kindness to call when she perceives distress in my blogs in wonderful and usually timely.

The next thing that went through my mind speaking of time was the song “Time in a Bottle” by Jim Croce.  He had a short lived career.  He wrote the song “Time in a Bottle” in Dec 1970 after his wife told him she was pregnant with their first child.  The words tell the story.

Time In A Bottle

If I could save time in a bottle
The first thing that I’d like to do
Is to save every day
Till Eternity passes away
Just to spend them with you

If I could make days last forever
If words could make wishes come true
I’d save every day like a treasure and then,
Again, I would spend them with you

But there never seems to be enough time
To do the things you want to do
Once you find them
I’ve looked around enough to know
That you’re the one I want to go
Through time with

If I had a box just for wishes
And dreams that had never come true
The box would be empty
Except for the memory
Of how they were answered by you

But there never seems to be enough time
To do the things you want to do
Once you find them
I’ve looked around enough to know
That you’re the one I want to go
Through time with

According to the internet this appeared on his debut album “You Don’t Mess Around With Jim” in 1972.  The song was never intended as a single until Croce’s untimely death in a plane crash in September of 1973.  The 7″ vinyl became his second and final #1 hit posthumously.

His son Adrian James “A.J.” Croce was born Sept 28, 1971. AJ grew up in California with his mother Ingrid.  At age 4 AJ was completely blinded by a brain tumor.  Between ages 4 and 10 his eyesight gradually came back in his left eye.  During this time he began to play the piano while listening to music.  He played his first “gig” a Bar Mitzvah at age 12.  By 16 he was playing in clubs in the San Diego area.  His house burned down when he was 15.  He forged on married and has two children.  He has his own recording label and 6 CDs the last being released in 2006.  He has been a front man for famous performers, Willie Nelson, Ray Charles to Earth Wind and Fire, Santana and Rod Stewart and on most if not all late night and early morning TV Shows.

This young man’s perseverance is a testimony to his mother I believe and his father’s legacy as well.  Father’s and sons, mothers and sons, mothers and daughter and fathers and daughters.  Interesting subject referencing time and how we are impacted by unforeseen events.  They can make us or break us.

TIME TIME TIME….special days as in spring forward. I noted earlier this year that there are days when we know exactly where we were and what we were doing at a specific time when unforeseen events occur.  Today is one of those for me.

As I grew this day became my cousin’s birthday.  Sam and Liz’s anniversary – I wish everyone could know this special wonderful couple.  It also is my friend Laura Clark’s birthday – another very special person.  I celebrate those days now as the joy of this day.

Yet no matter how old I become I never can forget where I was when Alice Tapley came to get me in my class on that Girl Scout Wednesday.  My world changed on this day many, many years ago.  I can only pray the ensuing years of my life have been a loving kind testimony to those who raised me from that devastating time.  If I could have time in a bottle……..

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

 

2 comments on “TIME – TOPIC DU JOUR

  1. We will never forget and always wonder what if? Not to take away from the wonderful things that have happened since but, what if?
    Love you lots.

  2. I love “Time In A Bottle”, so much that we had it sung at our wedding! Says so much about how time and tide wait for no one. And a reminder that we need to treasure each moment and person in our lives. Luv ya, Liz

Leave a Reply

