RED SKY

GOOD MORNING WORLD

I am no longer a morning person.  Time was when early morning was a neat place to be.  Have to admit those times were when I had stayed up having fun all night.  Then there were the early mornings that I awoke before the whole family and tiptoed to the living room to read in the quiet.  No longer.  I must be honest and say that I have to drag myself out of bed most days.  I really would like to find the magic potion to get me back to jumping out to greet the day.  That will be a new adventure one day perhaps!

Yesterday morning I was up earlier than normal at 6:45 or so.  I looked out the bathroom window and saw the most vibrant red sky I had seen in years.  There was almost a line across it like a child had painted it.  Below was a rich deep red orange much like the color of a Doritos bag.  It look like the heat ring of a glass cook top.  It appeared as if it would burn your hand should you reach out to touch it. This red orange had black streaks through it.  Above this line was a lighter color that was fading to pink like a tie dyed shirt.  The color mutated to a clear that appeared to gradually become a light blue tint on the whole sky.

I brushed my teeth and turned back around and it was a little less brilliant.  I walked downstairs to discover that in that short amount of time the earth had moved or the sky had lightened and the color had faded to the horizon.  I could barely see it any longer.

As the granddaughter of a lobsterman and the daughter of a man who was in marine hardware sales all his life I am very familiar with the ‘Red at Dawning’ quote.  I was interested to see what the rest of the day was going to be.

I googled the quote only to discover that the Library of Congress has a wonderful website.  I am certain I will use it more.  I knew I could find books here.  I was not aware of all the other information that was available.  The place I was led this time was called, “Everyday Mysteries” and had an answer to the query of the quote.  See Below:

The Library of Congress Everyday Mysteries

http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/mysteries/weather-sailor.html

Question: “Red sky at night, sailor’s delight. Red sky in morning, sailor’s warning” true, or is it just an old wives’ tale?

Answer:    Within limits, there is truth in this saying.

Have you ever heard anyone use the proverb above?

Shakespeare did. He said something similar in his play, Venus and Adonis. “Like a red morn that ever yet betokened, Wreck to the seaman, tempest to the field, Sorrow to the shepherds, woe unto the birds, Gusts and foul flaws to herdmen and to herds.”

In the Bible, (Matthew XVI: 2-3,) Jesus said, “When in evening, ye say, it will be fair weather: For the sky is red. And in the morning, it will be foul weather today; for the sky is red and lowering.”

Weather lore has been around since people needed to predict the weather and plan their activities. Sailors and farmers relied on it to navigate ships and plant crops.

I was fascinated to discover the Bible quote as well as Shakespeare.  The article went on to talk about particles of dust, pressures and all sorts of informational items to spoil the beauty of a simple sunrise!  I did not need to know that the deeper the red the more moisture leading to bad weather.  I trusted my grandfather and father all these years and have been fairly well taken care of from their use of the quote.  Many a time I would have raingear on when I left home to walk to school.  I was told I would need it.  I would discover few other classmates had their raincoats.  I however was all set to walk home when the rain inevitably arrived later that day.

Yesterday a little after 1PM the weather bureau started publishing winter weather warnings for Friday and Saturday.  I had to be out for the afternoon.  I watched the day slowly dwindle from the light blue tinted cloudy sky to the overcast to the solid gray sky.  As I was pulling back into my street I could hear and see weather on my car. It was a rain sleet mix. I got into my garage with no plans to leave again that day or the next.

Red at dawning?  I’ll heed the warning and continue to believe Grumpa and Daddy and those old wives whoever they are!

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

By ktsquared Posted in Trivia

Leave a Reply

