THANKSGIVING FOOD

GOOD MORNING WORLD

Today I am going to start to prepare for Thanksgiving dinner.  The Turkey has been thawing since Sunday.  My dad has a real ritual for thawing a bird. In the fridge and out of the fridge and in the fridge or out till it is ready to stuff and put in the oven.  For these few days this bird will dance around the kitchen more than I do!!!

Now I have to line up the veggies and make sure I have everything I need.  We added green bean casserole a couple of years ago to feed those who do not like the squash and turnip and onions.  I am actually glad we did that as it added color.  Thanksgiving dinner in our house is very orange or a yellowy color.  The green of the green beans was a good addition.  Of course we had green with pickles and olives.  Oh and the burgundy of the cranberry jelly.  Still the plate is quite bland if you do not eat any of the condiments.

What is your favorite?  I do not have one.  I like the meal in total.  We rarely have turnip except on Thanksgiving.  I like turnip.  Now here is the situation.  I actually like rutabagas not turnip.

 The rutabaga, swede (from Swedish turnip),[1] turnip or yellow turnip (Brassica napobrassica, or Brassica napus var. napobrassica, or Brassica napus subsp. rapifera) is a root vegetable that originated as a cross between the cabbage and the turnip; see Triangle of U. The roots are prepared for food in a variety of ways, and its leaves can also be eaten as a leaf vegetable.

The turnip that I discovered years ago when I was first cooking our own Thanksgiving dinners were smaller than what I remembered and not waxed.  It was then I found out I was eating a rutabaga.  Grocery store check out people evidently do not eat these often either as they always ask what is this!

The turnip or white turnip is a root vegetable commonly grown in temperate climates worldwide for its white, bulbous taproot. Small, tender varieties are grown for human consumption, while larger varieties are grown as feed for livestock.

Another favorite of mine is butternut squash which I eat more than at Thanksgiving.  I love a nice dry squash.  I was not aware of the differences there are in regional butternut squash.  I bought a squash when I was in Maine last year to eat with my dinner one night.  When I cooked it I was delighted to see that it was dry and delicious.  The squash we get in MD (and got in other parts of the country) tends to have more liquid in it no matter how little water I put in the pan to cook it.   The squash qwas so good last year that I bought another to bring home.  When I needed another here I bought from my local grocer and sure enough not as good as the ones from Maine.  What is the difference?

I went to the internet to find a reason.  The only thing I can glean from what I was reading was that the soil temperature was to be 70 degrees.  In many parts of the country it gets hotter than that.  I am assuming it is the soil that makes the difference so next fall when I am in Maine I will buy up a bunch of them to bring home!  So it is a toss of the dice as to what the squash will taste like on Thanksgiving.  I am hoping for dry.

What is your favorite food on Thanksgiving?

Trivia from Wikipedia on this subject:

Foods of the season

Traditional Thanksgiving dinner

U.S. tradition compares the holiday with a meal held in 1621 by the Wampanoag and the Pilgrims who settled in Plymouth, Massachusetts. It is continued in modern times with the Thanksgiving dinner, traditionally featuring turkey, playing a central role in the celebration of Thanksgiving.

In the United States, certain kinds of food are traditionally served at Thanksgiving meals. Firstly, baked or roasted turkey is usually the featured item on any Thanksgiving feast table (so much so that Thanksgiving is sometimes referred to as “Turkey Day”). Stuffingmashed potatoes with gravysweet potatoescranberry saucesweet corn, various fall vegetables (mainly various kinds of squashes), and pumpkin pie are commonly associated with Thanksgiving dinner. All of these are actually native to the Americas or were introduced as a new food source to the Europeans when they arrived. Turkey may be an exception. In his book Mayflower, Nathaniel Philbrick suggests that the Pilgrims might already have been familiar with turkey in England, even though the bird is native to the Americas. The Spaniards had brought domesticated turkeys back from Central America in the early 17th century, and the birds soon became popular fare all over Europe, including England, where turkey (as an alternative to the traditional goose) became a “fixture at English Christmases”.[31]

The less fortunate are often provided with food at Thanksgiving time. Most communities have annual food drives that collect non-perishable packaged and canned foods, and corporations sponsor charitable distributions of staple foods and Thanksgiving dinners.[32]

If you have not done so already please take a minute and take some canned goods to your local food pantry.  They need it especially at this time of year.  OR do it next week as we have another holiday coming quickly.  In our country right now there is much more need than ever before.

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

4 comments on “THANKSGIVING FOOD

  1. Well, guess you know we are all related as we have all of the same foods for Thanksgiving dinner!!! Although, there are probably many like us. I, too, have added green bean casserole to those family dinners as I have found that some of the grandchildren love it. We, now, go often to our childrens homes for the traditional dinners which I do love. However, I miss waking up to the smell of the turkey which has cooked all night in the oven on low. Actually, that wouldn’t be all night as we wouldn’t have gotten to bed until the wee hours after preparing for the gang. I know that some would say that you shouldn’t do that especially with stuffing in but, hey, it was great and we are all healthy!!!
    Happy Thanksgiving, Kath
    Love you, Aunt Becky

  2. Forgot to mention that I love hearing the stories about your other family down the street in Hollis. They were special people.
    Aunt Becky

  3. Most years I have been at home preparing Thanksgiving Dinner for about a dozen of Diane’s relatives. This is our first Thanksgiving as Snowbirds, so I managed to get a friend in Celebration, FL to host a dinner. Originally it was supposed to be 10 of us but 2 couples had plans change. So 6 of us will meet at John and Gail’s for a feast. We are all bringing components of the meal/ I am the author of the menu. I am so good at getting others to “volunteer” their homes for such events (yuk! yuk!). We always ahave a good time!

    Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

    The Menu

    2:00 p.m. Cocktails (notice very light snacks)

    Wine, Beer, Mixed Drinks (ALL)

    Vegetable –Dip Tray (OLGA & BILL)

    3:00 p.m. Dinner

    Soup

    Creamy Tomato Balsamic Soup (DIANE & JOHN)
    …with Pumpkin Walnut Focaccia (DIANE & JOHN)

    Salad

    Spring Salad Mix (DIANE & JOHN)
    …with Feta Cheese and Sweet Potatoes
    Dijon Balsamic Lime Vinaigrette Dressing

    Entrees

    Baked Ham a’la Gail (GAIL & JOHN)

    Roasted French Thief Turkey (GAIL Buys / JOHN P Preps)
    …with Fresh Herbs de Provence (DIANE & JOHN)

    accompanied by

    Gail’s Favorite Thanksgiving Vegetables (GAIL & JOHN)

    Gail’s Cranberry-Orange Chutney (GAIL & JOHN)

    Apple Sauce (OLGA & BILL)

    Pumpkin Souffle (DIANE & JOHN)

    Dessert

    Apple Pie (OLGA & BILL)

    Pumpkin Pie (OLGA & BILL)

    Café and Tea

Leave a Reply

