SUNDAY – LECTIO DIVINA

GOOD MORNING WORLD

On Sundays I like to have a bit of faith in my posts as my faith is such a part of my life – all my life.  I still wear a small gold cross that my Grandfather gave to me when I was born or baptized, I do not know which.  In fact as I write I am not sure which grandfather.  Thought is was Fred Victor Thurston and, since I have always heard only grandfather not grandparents, it could have been Gerald Hodgkins.  It is around my neck and I love it.  There used to be a diamond chip which has now been lost.

I looked at today’s scriptures for us.  The Gospel we are reading is Mark 13:24-32.  It speaks of the tribulation and darkening of clouds and stars falling from the sky and the powers of heaven being shaken.  Oh joy how uplifting!  It goes from the Son of Man gathering his elect, to the fig tree shoots and the lesson it teaches, to the last verse saying, “But of that day or hour, no one knows, neither the angels in the heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.”  Sounds to me like the end of the world.  What am I going to do with that???

Best thing to do is wait to hear what Monsignor says and take from that perhaps.  We have had so many “The World Is Coming To An End” prophesies in our life time.  I remember we were all aware that the world was going to hiccup on Y2K 1/1/2000.  The Mayans have a prophesy that world is going to end in December.  Their calendar ends 12/21/12 and they believed that we had 13 years from 1999 to 2012 to get things right?  The sites to discover this information are varied and weird so I am not going to include them.  There are sites that debunk this as well.  Christmas shopping or not???

I think I will continue to – a favorite quote from ‘Sleepless in Seattle’ comes to mind as Sam answers Dr. Marcia Fieldstone on the phone,

“Well, I’m gonna get out of bed every morning… breathe in and out all day long. Then, after a while I won’t have to remind myself to get out of bed every morning and breathe in and out… and, then after a while, I won’t have to think about how I had it great and perfect for a while.”

I will not have to be so dramatic.  I can just get out of bed and start my day as the world continues to spin. The world is not going to end next month.  Hopefully not for a long time despite the unrest that exists.  So what do I do with this scripture?  Follow me…

The scriptures the old and new testament had much more in them today than the Gospel of  Mark.  The messages today could have been interpreted in many ways.  In the practice of Lectio Divina, which is a way you study and pray the scriptures, one picks a word or phrase and ponders that only for a meditation time.  So let’s do go back to that sentence and look at it another way.  Shorten it to simply ‘…..of the day or hour, no one knows…..’.  What does this bring to mind for you?

I had breakfast with a dear friend on Friday.  It takes us months to plan a breakfast or lunch.  Friday we were celebrating her Oct 30th birthday.  Our breakfasts start at 9 and go until.  Friday I was astonished when I discovered it was 11:30 and we were still at the table.  We talk about everything that has happened to us and the world and our families.  In there somewhere we eat a couple of eggs with sides and lots of coffee.

We were talking about Christmas gifts and she was telling me she was working on a quilt and I was sharing about my projects.  I was talking about my writing and where I was thinking of going with it.  She told me she was writing letters to her children to tell them how much she loved them and share some stories that were just theirs.  What a gift and I had just written  a blog about gifts.

The gift she was writing was one that would cost nothing – only time.  She went on to remind me that her mother had left written notes for her Dad and all of the children when she had passed.  She told me what a hard time they all had reading them after the funeral.  Imagine taking the time to do this when you know your time is short?  I liked my friends idea better.  Write them now.

I actually have done this in my life.  I remember seeing a movie in college and writing Daddy a note to tell him what a great father he was to me.  I have done the same with my siblings to accompany the quilts I handmade for them.  When we left North Carolina and left our two children  – grown children we were not abandoning them contrary to their belief – I did the same and gave them each photo albums with lots of copies of photos for them to have.

As I read the Scripture today I am not going to interpret it as the end of the world.  I am going to utilize it to encourage and foster the fact that the truth is we do not know when anything is going to happen so we are called to make the most of each day.   My friend is full of wisdom. I believe as she shares this information it will foster more love in her family now not when it is too late.

So who do you love?  Who do you like?  Who do you respect?  Did someone do something to impact your life in any way?  Go make a real gift of it!  It is the first day of Thanksgiving week.  Use that as a reason if you believe you need one.  Find a nice ‘Thanksgiving’ card or ‘thinking of you’ card or some pretty paper and tell them what they mean to you.  Let them know now before the time passes away.  As you know I believe I am going to live to 124 so I have plenty of time and still believe it is important to work in the now.  Your choice.

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

Leave a Reply

