SILENCE OR A HAMMER – A CHOICE

GOOD MORNING WORLD

I have been pondering the results of 11-6.  I have tried to be silent and listen to what others have had to say.  I have been scouring the news and internet.  My conclusion is that nothing at all has changed.  So I have a choice.  I can be silent and not to ‘disturb the sound of silence’ and let ‘my words, like silent raindrops fell And echoed In the wells of silence’.   Whatever is going to happen will and I will have no input.

I can be passionate and use the ‘hammer of freedom’ to speak.  Quotes from the songs “Sounds of Silence” and “If I had a hammer”.  Protest songs of the 60’s.  The protesters are no longer protesting,  They are in power and giving away our country.

Since 11/6 the headlines have been:

-THE DIVIDED STATES OF AMERICA

-STOCKFALLS 3% SINCE OBAMA ELECTED (yesterday it was 5%)

-Putin Happy with Obama Victory

-Where to put your money after Obama Victory

-More Fed Easing

-Petraeus Resigns Over ‘Affair”

-Obama Administration Shuts Down Oil Drilling Out West

-Panetta: ‘I’m Reading the Paper Like You Are”

-OBAMA DEMANDS TAX HIKES

-TEXAS GETS REQUIRED 25K SIGNATURES

There is no silence out there.  Our Secretary of Defense reads the paper to know what is going on?  The newly re-elected President is demanding?  Our questionable friend in Russia is glad to have the flexibility available and that means what?  Does anyone remember that the administration went into Libya without Congressional approval?

I went to search for silence.  Wikipedia says it is the lack of audible sound.  The word silence brought up some websites for meditation as well as a play that is on Broadway and is a musical parody of ‘The Silence  of the Lambs’.  Despite my credulity as to the enjoyment of this story, I was interested to discover it has won awards.

I looked for wisdom as it is usually good to seek knowledge to understand.  I found the following quotes.

at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/silence.html#6JqCGjCxzFf5Kqmk.99

Nothing strengthens authority so much as silence.
Leonardo da Vinci
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
Martin Luther King, Jr.
To sin by silence when they should protest makes cowards of men.
Abraham Lincoln
I swore never to be silent whenever and wherever human beings endure suffering and humiliation. We must always take sides. Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented.
Elie Wiesel
When the oak is felled the whole forest echoes with it fall, but a hundred acorns are sown in silence by an unnoticed breeze.
Thomas Carlyle
Don’t you know that silence supports the accuser’s charge?
Sophocles

I thought about the silent majority that say nothing until they get to the ballot box – if they get there.  I thought about the times I have spoken up in my life when it would have been better to be quiet.  I thought about the times I was quiet and it would have been better if I had said something.  Still not sure where I stand on speaking out anymore.  I pretty much had my say in the email response I shared.  I can not see where my small voice will do any good at all.

Then I read the quoted words above again.  Can I remain silent when I believe David Petraeus spoke about his affair himself so that he would be beholden to no one?  When was the last time someone exposed their own bad deeds?   Can I remain silent when the same man is supposed to have said privately to a member of Congress, “Do you want the official line or do you want the real truth?”  Can I remain silent when 4 men died in Benghazi and our President did not answer a direct question that asked if he issued orders to protect those lives?  Could the 4 Americans have been saved had there been a rapid response?

The words above are saying that bad things happen when good people say nothing.  They are telling me that silence gives authority power, can be the beginning of the end, encourages bad ideas and supports bad positions.  There are already lots of acorns out there – Benghazi, Petraeus, debt, taxes, and where did the media go?

Sound of Silence or Hammer of freedom?

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

One comment on “SILENCE OR A HAMMER – A CHOICE

  1. Loved your blog this morning. You, as an American Citizen, I do believe have a right to say what you want to say whether other people agree or not. The President certainly does. I was not happy to see him re-elected. Today while at the car dealership waiting for the truck to be fixed the President was on Television and pardon my saying so, he spoke like the spoiled little boy that he reminds me of. He is not a good speaker and I don’t feel we really can believe anything he says.

    Wish I could write like you do but I am not that gifted so I really enjoy your remarks on things. Then I sit down and wonder “How does she do that?”
    What I want to say never comes out the way I mean it to.

    Keep up the good work. I am really enjoying this connection and, I guess, seeing another side of you that I didn’t realize was there.

    Love from your Old Cousin.

Leave a Reply

