IN YOUR FACE – WE WON

GOOD MORNING WORLD

THE JOURNAL

Before I began writing on this issue today I went back to my face book page to see if I had made any comments that could be perceived as ‘in your face’ kind of comments after the election.   I was very clear, pointed and vocal before the election which candidate I supported and used my wall to point of the flaws in the other.  I try to only use facts .  I also try to not use bad language or sarcasm.  From Wednesday to Friday I had been re-posting other peoples words and comments more than adding my own words.  I commented that I did not believe that the next four years were going to be any different than the last.

I have been as clear and outspoken with my thoughts and feelings in my blogs.  I do not believe that any of the two that I wrote Wednesday or Thursday used ‘in you face’ language.  Nor was I belligerent as I was full of confusion and lacked understanding about the results of the election.  I was not feeling sour grapes.  I was scared and frightened about what was coming.  I tried to go upbeat and hopeful and move on to what comes next.

Friday I received an email and was excited with the address as it was from someone I thought loved and cared about me – perhaps it was an anniversary greeting?

The subject said:

You’re going to want to share this

 The body read:

President Obama stopped by campaign headquarters in Chicago and spoke from his heart about how grateful he is for everyone’s support.
Every single person who helped build this campaign deserves to see this – watch it and share:
http://OFA.BO/NKUHsn

Thanks.

The link took me to Barack Obama standing to speak – I had seen the same on television on Tuesday.  I sat there reading this email and realized it was intended to not so tongue and cheek point out to me ‘We won.’  I assumed it was to be funny .  It was only snide.  I already knew this.  Since the disappointment of these results I have felt such sorrow for our country.  As the cock-eyed optimist I see not much good coming.  This person does not read my blog and is not on facebook so this was out of left field.

More than this was my feeling of gut punch from this person.  It wasn’t a pleasant greeting for me to receive at this time.  They had no idea what I was feeling.  I have held them in high esteem all my life.  I listened to them.  I often told people who made fun of their ideas that while this person was one who might dream wild, they could make dreams come true.  They worked hard to do that.  They taught me to tithe which we still do while I do not think they do any longer.  I would’ve given a part of my body for them if I had to and have helped them out financially.  When I am sad about our country and trying to move forward I got this garish email.

I responded with the following words I had not said out loud or in print before not even on facebook .  Unfortunately I was terse and sarcastic to hide my hurt:

…..are you really serious? You got your wish. Who are you going to blame now? You will own the Catholic Church losing it’s freedom of religion if the lawsuits are lost. You will own the $5+/gal gas that is coming. You will own the $2500 already in effect increased rate for insurance and the increases in insurance rates that are to come. You will own the destruction of the second amendment that is already being tampered with in the UN issue. You will own the layoffs that are to come – 1700 already announced yesterday in St.   Louis at Boeing. You will own the manufacturing that does not come back to the USA. You will own the destruction of the coal and the people who will be pushed into poverty due to that. You will also own the deaths of the four in Libya as this unfolds to be the incompetence of this administration – but hey – it was a good speech I imagine…..did he have a tear in his eye here as well?? Would not know as I didn’t watch it – I voted for freedom of choice for all Americans and the pursuit of happiness not regression into government slavery!!!

From wiser men…..

‘America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose freedom, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.’ Abraham Lincoln

“A wise and frugal government, which shall leave men free to regulate their own pursuits of industry and improvement, and shall not take from the mouth of labor the bread it has earned – this is the sum of good government.” Thomas Jefferson

‘When the people find that they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the republic.’ Benjamin Franklin

“If freedom of speech is taken away, then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter.” ― George Washington

Thanks

The response was: (sic)

Got your message…..understand you position…but we can own if it happens . I do know that God will take care of us since HE is a Democrate

…..to this they signed their name.

I emailed back, owned my feelings and said that I did not find any of this funny and was insulted and hurt at the insensitivity of it all.  What more can one say?

THE BLOG

Today’s scripture was about the ‘widows mite’.  It speaks about men of the law who devour the widows’ houses.  It reveres the woman.

Mark:12   The Widow’s Offering

41 Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. 42 But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a few cents.

43 Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. 44 They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.”

What does this scripture have to do with all the above in the journal section?  To me it speaks of kindness and giving.  It speaks of love and sacrifice.

What doesn’t it speak about?  It does not speak about taking by taxation.  It does not speak about adding financial burdens onto those who cannot afford it.  It does not speak of generosity above law.

We in this country are already moving back to where we were before Nov. 6th and even further back than that if the job situation is any indication.  Thursday a number of companies announced lay-offs.  It is the opinion of many that the companies had been waiting until after the ele3ction to hire or fire.  Boeing in St.   Louis announced 1700 lay-offs.  They plan a 30% reduction in their managerial staff by the end of 2012.  USCellular is losing 12% of their 8400 workforce.  Vesta Wind Systems is trying to find an investor for 20% of their business at the same time reducing their workforce by 3000.  There are more.  The Blaze.com listed some I mentioned and more and printed a list.

http://www.theblaze.com/stories/how-many-businesses-have-announced-closings-or-lay-offs-since-obama-won-a-second-term/

A layoff is tough enough for employees to deal with, imagine hearing the crushing news that your office is shutting down just before Thanksgiving and Christmas… Here are some of the business closings that were announced in just the past two days:

Check it out.  They list 20 companies including some Targets and KMarts all over the country that are closing.

This country before the Great Depression had conditions that included failed banks and uncertainty with those that survived.  The stock market declined and crashed.  As economic realities took hold people stopped spending money and purchasing items.  Items were not produced and the workforce was reduced accordingly.  People not working cannot pay their bills.  The unemployment rate rose.  As business began to fail the government taxed imports more.  Our relations with foreign countries were strained.  (Benghazi speaks to this at this point.  With David Petraeus stepping down we may learn more that is unsettling.)  It seems to me that our country now is not dissimilar to then.

PULLING THE TWO TOGETHER

Since the election I have been full of sorrow for the path that was chosen.  I was so involved in trying to get a different result that it is hard to know what to do now and how to handle the sadness and the fear I am experiencing.  I have tried to be upbeat in my blog to offset this.  The email I received was like pouring salt into a wound.  I am fearful for America.  I pray for the resilience that so often pulls us through.  As hurricane Sandy is teaching us, the government does not function well taking care of peoples need’s.  A quote from a survivor of  Sandy says it all.  They said, “It is never the government, it is the people who will take care of themselves.”

As for the person that sent the email and the people who re-elected our President, I hope all goes well.  Our government will continue in gridlock for some time I fear.  Eventually taxes will go up.  It occurred to me that just as this person taught me about tithing, perhaps every legislator could be required to give away 10% of their own money before they are allowed to spend ours?  Emailer, you are right you won.  You can no longer blame George Bush as through your choice you do truly own it now.  The next time you want to plague or tease someone perhaps you ought to know your audience better.

As for me, I am ashamed by my terse response.  I am upset that I responded so poorly with words I had not wanted to say in that way.   I will have to live with that.  I still prefer the role of the widow and freely giving that with which God has entrusted me.  As for God I believe He transcends political party affiliation.  May God continue to Bless this wonderful Republic.

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

2 comments on “IN YOUR FACE – WE WON

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

