JINGLES OR TAG LINES – BEST FORM OF ADVERTISING?

GOOD MORNING WORLD

We have a new toothpaste.  We discovered it last summer when we were away leaving our toothpaste at home!  Hi Ho Hi Ho it’s to the store we go.  The toothpaste we found is a very old brand and the jingle was ready on our lips and running through our heads.  So do you know what we got?

The Jingle:  ‘You’ll wonder where the yellow went when you brush you teeth with_____!

It got me to thinking of jingles and tag lines.  The show ‘Two and a Half Men’ was based on Charlie Sheen’s character Charlie and his stay at home job as a jingle writer.  What is a jingle?

Dictionary.com

jin·gle

Show Spelled [jing-guhl] Show IPA verb, jin·gled, jin·gling, noun

verb (used without object)

1.to make clinking or tinkling sounds, as do coins, keys, or other light, resonant metal objects when coming into contact or being struck together repeatedly: The keys on his belt jingled as he walked.

2.to move or proceed with such sounds: The sleigh, decorated with bells, jingled along the snowy road.

3.to sound in a light, repetitious manner suggestive of this, as verse, a sequence of words, or piece of music.

4.to make rhymes.

Do we have ‘jingles’ anymore? 

http://www.advertisementjournal.com/2011/12/how-the-jingle-went-out-of-advertising/

‘As the world turns, the consumers change as well. The sweet, innocent, naïve, jingles like the “Jolly Green Giant” or “Everyone Loves a slinky,” just doesn’t sell. People just don’t want a cute product anymore. This kind of jingle may have been desirable in the sixties, but here in the turn of the century, we need more to get us interested. “Instead of extolling the virtues of the product, the idea was to celebrate the lifestyle of the consumers of the product,” said Roger Enrico, the former PepsiCo CEO. It isn’t about the product anymore, it’s about who is using the product. This is what launched the new Pepsi campaign generation.’

What brought this all to mind this morning was a commercial on TV.  It showed various people hysterically laughing.  I found my self watching it and then reading the words as I had a smile on my face.  So the commercial elicited a happy feeling in me.  This according to the advertiser I am thinking would make me want to buy the product.  I previously have had this product.  I may actually one day in the future buy one of these again.  I am not certain the advertising worked.  Today, I believe, advertisers are not looking for the ONE ad.  I believe they go along with the sales mentality that it will take consumers 6-8 times of seeing information to actually purchase. 

Question for you – who advertises their product only with laughing people and the line, “It’s not the miles- it’s how you live them.”?  Perhaps the last line will help.  The last screen showed these words with the logo, “The power of German Engineering VW (in logo form).”  Did that make you want to go out and buy a Volkswagen?  I may yet again one day and will only pray they have fixed the heaters.  Do not know anyone that owned a VWBeetle that had a working heater!!

So Jingles………name the product…

‘You wonder where the yellow went….’

‘Brusha Brusha Brusha with the new…’

‘MMgood MMgood that’s why……’

‘Oh I wish I were an…..’

And what of tag lines???

‘Where’s the beef?’

‘That’s a some spicey meataball-a.’

‘I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.’

If I had a choice I think I like the jingle best.  I understand the new look to go for demographics and evidently it works. Which do you believe is the better form of advertising?  Give me a song any day!!!

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

 

One comment on “JINGLES OR TAG LINES – BEST FORM OF ADVERTISING?

  1. Just saw that very ad with everyone laughing. I loved it!! In fact, it made me laugh, too. Can’t say it will make me buy a VW—actually it won’t, but I loved the laughing. We all should do more of that!!
    Aunt Becky

Leave a Reply

