HAIR TODAY GONE TODAY

GOOD MORNING WORLD

I am getting my hair cut first thing this morning at the spa.  I have not had an official hair cut since August of last year.  Then it was cut a little above shoulder length.   I have no idea what will be the result of this venture.  I just know that I am tired of this hair hanging down 8 plus inches on my back.  I am going to tell them that my hair is straight, will not hold a curl.  I need a style for a fat face that takes no care. If I do not like it I know it will grow or I can wear a hat!

In the interest of not having this be too much of a journal I looked up the history of hair.  Oh what a fun venture.  At first I looked up ‘hair’ only.  Up came the play ‘HAIR’ among other less interesting items.  I then used ‘hair history’.  That really garnered some interesting choices.  In early Egypt noblemen and women clipped their hair close it says until they had ceremonial events where they donned curly black wigs. 

At this website http://www.hairrific.com/hist.htm there was information about cutting your hair by the full of the moon.  They had the history of finger waves and beehives. It included the history of the word hairdresser as well as information about the Gibson and Bob styles.  It also gave you the history of the Breck Girl as well as the history of shampoo.  If I did not have so much to do I would have stayed there longer.  Will save it for another day.  I cold not resist sharing this from that site:

It has long been known that the Earth is affected by the position of it’s Moon and the Sun. Our daily tides are read by where the Moon is positioned in the sky in relation to the Earth. The four seasons occur because Earth’s axis is tilted with respect to it’s orbit of the Sun.The Farmer’s Almanac, first printed by Robert B. Tomas in 1792, is used as a reference today by millions on when to plant, prune, and harvest plants according to the skies. He believed in a cause and effect pattern to all phenomena.
HAIR HISTORY – Cutting Your Hair By The Full Moon

 

Astrology and astronomy are two different calculations. Astrology is a tool to time events according to the astrological placement of two luminaries (the Sun and the Moon) and eight planets of the 12 signs of the Zodiac. Astronomy, on the other hand, is the charting of the actual placement of the known planets, taking into account the precession of the equinoxes.Astrologers believe that a person’s personality is formed by where the planets are aligned at the time of birth. The influence of these planets also determine good times to sign contracts, start a new relationship, etc.Astrologer Susan Larsen, explains when to cut your hair for maximum benefits:
“If you choose to grow your hair long, cut hair during the first phase of the moon when the light is increasing. To further enhance the growth of your hair, cut it when the moon is in Cancer, Taurus, Scorpio, Capricorn, or Pisces. To increase thickness, cut during these times but also during the Leo moon. If you hate cutting your hair every 4-6 weeks, then choose the second phase of the moon when it is decreasing in light. Cutting when the moon is in a fire or air sign like Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, and Aquarius, also prevents excessive growth.”Is it a coincidence that a woman’s monthly cycle is 28 to 31 days? Most likely not. Every living thing is connected to Mother Earth and the Universe.

This information is a bit overwhelming as we have just had a Blue Moon and we are in Virgo so I have no idea if it is a good time to cut hair or not.  This same Google search brought up Sassoon History as well.  I remember that style and actually wear it with my hair being shorter in the back than the front regardless of length.  A lot of the time I will just stand in the bathroom and ask my husband to cut off a couple of inches of hair straight across my back.  This ends up giving the same effect of the shorter back.  He is quite good at it and helped me out a couple of times last winter.  I wonder how long my hair would have been had he not cut it?

If you remember I am a direct line descendant of Lady Godiva.  I have thought since knowing this that perhaps I would let my hair grow as part of my heritage.  I could become the Lady Godiva of my time.  It would have to be the hair as I cannot ride a horse.  I could not do the naked thing either as it would burn the eyes of people in the town.  So it is the hair.  I could let it grow and grow and grow to my waist and beyond.  This thought process lasted all of about two minutes.  I realized well into the thought that I’d already cut it too often and my old aging sagging breasts would make my waist before the hair did. 

I am getting my hair cut first thing this morning at the spa!

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

Leave a Reply

