COOKBOOKS

GOOD MORNING WORLD

I love that people are reading and commenting on this blog.  I am thinking I may have been taken a bit to task after my coffee cake post.  John Perides commented about his cookbook!  Now I am compelled to share about my cookbooks as well. 

First and foremost I must say that John’s own cookbook is one of my favorites.  He came up with a clever idea to cook together and tell a story at the same time.  Our friendship has led to much story telling.  I am looking forward to the eating together part more when time allows.

My cookbooks could overwhelm my home if I let them.  I would like to own one of every cook out there.  I’d have a bookstore of cookbooks if I could.  Not the case thankfully.  My library is enough to move around!  My cookbooks stand in a 4′ high green decorative bookshelf in my eating area.  It has three shelves besides the top which holds my radio and a Christmas Cactus.  If I could figure out how to upload a photo I would.

Just like my recipe box, my cookbooks are a walk in my history.  John’s cookbook actually is one of my latest.  I tend not to buy them much anymore as everything is so accessible on the internet.  I, in essence, am creating my own by my printed downloads of favorite recipes.  That is another reason I like John’s cookbook so well.  Once you buy it he provides a website so you can print the recipes for shopping.  Actually he even has a shopping list!!!

On my cookbook shelves you will find my first purchases – Betty Crocker and Good Housekeeping.  There also is a plastic container with 13 volumes of paperbacks that I bought each week one at a time for 99 cents with every grocery purchase.   I also found at this same time ‘Dinners for Two on a Dollar a Day’.  We were newlyweds, watching our pennies and this was an easy way to get more recipes to keep my husband happy!  An activity I still enjoy!!!  From the paperback volumes I found his favorite Arroz con Pollo alaPiedmontwhich I make for him on his birthday.

My very first of the ‘walk in my history’ cookbooks was a cookbook I bought in Bermuda.  We went there a year after our wedding as we had saved money finally for a honeymoon – could not stay a full week as we did not have enough.  We only missed one day.  We would have to go through customs on our way back so did not buy lots to declare.  We did buy the suitcase full of legal alcohol to bring back!!!  I also bought a cookbook as it had some history of the island in it as well.  Book 1 of what was to be a small collection of history and good food.

My cookbooks include one from France that our exchange student brought the SECOND time he came as he told his mother how much I liked to cook.  He also loved to eat!!!  I have books from everywhere we have lived as well as places we have vacationed.  Not everyone has a cookbook from the Lewis and Clark Trail I bet!  I have Maya Angelou’s cookbook which tells her story and has a great recipe for Chicken and dumplings.  As with my recipe cards, each time I open one of my cookbooks, the potential to be transported to a delightful memory exists once again.  This then leads me…..

……ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

(PS thanks John)

2 comments on “COOKBOOKS

  1. In case you ever run low on ingredients look at the top shelf of your bookcase and do the following:

    Southwestern Cactus Salad
    Yield: 8 servings

    Ingredients:
    16 oz Christmas Cactus – peeled, rinsed, and dried
    2 cups chopped tomatoes
    1/2 cup diced onion
    5 jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced
    1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves
    2 lemons
    1/2 teaspoon garlic salt (optional)

    Directions:
    In a medium size mixing bowl, combine cactus, tomatoes, onions, jalapenos and cilantro. Squeeze the juice from both lemons over the mixture. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Sprinkle with garlic salt (if you’d like) and serve.

    p.s. This is not part of the Mexican Gourmet dinner in my book, but it sounded apropos given the explanation of your bookcase.

Leave a Reply

