REFELCTIONS OR LITTLE THINGS

GOOD MORNING WORLD

The last thing on my mind this morning was to write for my blog.  The last blog I wrote was on my birthday.  That was the first day of a new year for me.  Today is the halfway point of this year.  Can you imagine it?  I marvel at numbers and thoughts.  I have written 518 posts for this blog.  Who needs to read more?  Have no idea.  I only know that when the words want to pour out if I do not let them my mind is chaos for days.  I have to write for myself.  If you enjoy so much the better.  I discovered recently that my words effected someone so much that they changed their whole way of thinking.  More on that at a later date!

The title of this post was originally REFLECTION.  The LITTLE THINGS was added as I pondered what to write.

This morning as I was in the process of my morning ablutions I noticed a shaft of light reflecting on the mirror.  Now this light was high up in the trees.  There were two of them as if slivers of eyes in a creepy movie with a black face.  Each sliver looked like a skateboards top to bottom thinner than wider then thinner as the light of a weird orange came through the trees.  It was unsettling and intriguing.  As I sat and looked I realized the sun did not come from that direction.  In fact when I got up to investigate further,  the sun was indeed at my left and the slivers of orange light directly in front of me at a higher level than our second story bathroom.

I continued with my chores and went out to clean another area before returning to take my shower.  Upon my return, the orange skateboard eyes were gone.  My conclusion was that the sun coming up on my left had hit a spot on another house and the “eyes” that I saw were simply a reflection off something nearby.  I settled with that as a theme for this writing – the reflections in our lives.

I reflected on what had happened in the past few days.  I reflected on the people with whom I had interacted either via voice or emails or internet.  I reflected on the good and the not so and the confusing.  I thought of the actions I have taken.  The same good, bad, confusing labels apply.  I thought about how all of these had affected me.  Again the effects were good, bad and confusing.

I ended the supposed post my mind was writing with the words that we are all called to be reflections to each other.  I took joy in the positive responses I received yesterday.  The bad I will sort out later and the confusing will become clear at some point.  It all is good if the reflections we see can be understood and explained at some point.  I like the filter of faith.  This filter allowed me to come up with what the last line of that post would be if I write it then.  I would end with, “We are called to be reflections of the sun and the Son.”

My mind would not let me leave it there as the words, “little things” came to my mind from something I read this morning.  I cannot of course find it now to share as completely as I like.  It was strong enough to stir up my spirit.  It spoke to me about the little courtesies that we can do for each other and may or may not do.  It spoke to me of phone calls we could have made.  It said forgive and do not hold grudges in your heart as you are not perfect either.  These two words, “little things”, said write the notes you want even in email form and feel grateful that you did so like I did yesterday.  I heard in my mind be thankful, be grateful, forgive, reach out, be kind and if I could remember it would probably recited the Girl or Boy Scout laws in my brain.  It is the “little thing” of which our lives are made that make our lives.

So you the reader choose the title today.  REFLECTIONS or LITTLE THINGS.  I believe they both apply.  I believe that perhaps without both we are shallow.  If the ‘little things’ make our life than are we not going to be a ‘reflection’ of those as we face the world?  Today I hope and ask please let all my ‘little things’ be joyous so that the Son may be part of my ‘reflection’ to the world which I am about to encounter as I go about my day and errands.

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

Leave a comment