SUNNY SIDE EGG – BENGHAZI – POLITICAL CARTOONS

GOOD MORNING WORLD

How appropriate for a morning post.  A couple of days ago a facebook friend shared a cartoon by a liberal outlet -

http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/bl-fox-news.htm.egg-fried egg

It showed a whole egg standing on its end.  The line across it said “This is your brain”.  Below it was a sunny side egg in a fry pan.  The words across this said “This is your brain on FOX News.”

A favorite commercial of mine many years ago showed two hooded kids on drugs.  It showed the egg and then it showed the cracking of the egg and you could hear it sizzle in the frying pan.  Same message – egg was your brain and frying was the result of drugs.

So I could see the humor and appreciated it and then took it a step further as a FOX viewer.  I put it up on my wall with the comment that a sunny side egg is a wide awake viewer!!!  Sizzling to get all the news. It is all perception and we have to love the differences.

I love political humor so long as it is not over the top.  There is a fine line for me.  I also have to be cognizant that there is a fine line for others.  While I am clear in my opinion of the current administration I will not post things that call for bad things to happen to them – well with the exception of being accountable.

Political humor has been around for a long as printed news.  I think probably Poor Richards Almanac would be the forerunner of much of this literature.  Political Cartoons about the same time.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Editorial_cartoon

An editorial cartoon, also known as a political cartoon, is an illustration containing a commentary that usually relates to current events or personalities. An artist who draws such images is known as an editorial cartoonist.

They typically combine artistic skill, hyperbole and satire in order to question authority and draw attention to corruption and other social ills.[1]

By the mid 19th century, major political newspapers in many countries featured cartoons designed to express the publisher’s opinion on the politics of the day. One of the most successful was Thomas Nast in New York City, who imported realistic German drawing techniques to major political issues in the era of the Civil War and Reconstruction. Nast was most famous for his 160 editorial cartoons attacking the criminal characteristics of Boss Tweed‘s political machine in New York City. In fact, Tweed was arrested in Spain when police identified him from Nast’s cartoons.[2]

Notable editorial cartoons include Benjamin Franklin‘s “Join, or Die” (1754), on the need for unity in the American colonies; “The Thinkers Club” (1819), a response to the surveillance and censorship of universities in Germany under the Carlsbad Decrees; and E. H. Shepard‘s “The Goose-Step” (1936), on the rearmament of Germany under Hitler. “The Goose-Step” is one of a number of notable cartoons first published in the British Punch magazine

hear no evilThis week we have also seen the news come around to Fox News way of investigating news as Jay Carney finally answered real questions not softballs in the White House briefing room.  There was a great cartoon by Glenn McCoy about that as well – the lack of press coverage over those facts.  It showed the see no evil monkeys referencing investigation into Benghazi.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-YZruyMBVm4M/UImV-_ZvluI/AAAAAAAADD0/WuiFW0f9m_0/s1600/mccoy1025.jpeg

Another part of all of this is that there usually is truth behind it.  It is my best wish that truth be told and I work to that as well.  I read the following line and loved it.

“There are four boxes to be used in the defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury and ammo. Please use in that order.”

In order to use it I had to verify this quote I went to easy wiki.  There seems to be no real author of it and on wikipedia.

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Four_boxes_of_liberty

It was attributed to three or more.  It was lastly to Larry McDonald, former President of John Birch Society or Frederick Douglass in 1867 or Stephen Decatur Miller in 1830.  Regardless it is still a good quote.  I see my blog as a soap box often!!!

I take my soap box seriously and call our news people into responsibility on occasion through emails or letters.  As I was ironing on Thursday I had the “Your World with Neil Cavuto” on the TV.  A reporter by the name of Guy Benson totally misstated the results of the hearings.  I reported it to Cavuto with an email!

Neil,

I watch Fox News almost exclusively and Your World most afternoons. Today I watched to entertain as I was ironing.

Guy Benson was incorrect this afternoon when he reported on the Benghazi hearings.  It is horrible and blatant.  He could easily have done better had he paid attention to what he was saying.   When people are looking to find fault with FOX News erroneous reporting gives them fodder.

Mr. Benson said Greg Hicks called Hillary Clinton at 2AM to tell her of the attack.  Wrong on both accounts.

Greg Hicks testified that he called the State Dept to tell them they were under attack.

Greg Hicks said that Hillary Clinton called him at 2AM about the situation never asking about protests or video.

Two errors too many for FOX.  I can no longer say FOX News is right.  I can now say we must all be vigilant.

Sad Neil. Very sad!  In the same report there was another error and did not have pen and paper to write it down.  I am available to report news anytime!

I signed my name and information.  I must check to see if I have had a response.

While I cannot draw political cartoons I can speak.  It is important to have conversaations through humor or words.  It is the conversation on many different levels that brings truth to light ultimately through words or pictures!

I have a friend who is very talented and draws a cartoon for our local hometown paper each week.  I cannot imagine the talent it takes to come up with the idea let alone the image.  Sometimes I agree with him – others not – and invariably I smile and isn’t that the best thing about the whole thing.

…..ONWARD TO MORE MISADVENTURE…

Leave a Reply

